Pike County

US States / H-L / Indiana / Pike County

Pike County is named for Zebulon M. Pike, who was the discoverer of Pikes Peak, and who lived from 1779 to 1813.


Created:  December 21, 1816

County Seat: 

Petersburg  1817 – present


County Courthouse – Petersburg  


Location:  801 East Main Street / South 9th Street

Built:  1920 – 1922

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Elmer E Dunlap of Indianapolis

Contractor:  Jasper N Good of Columbus


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story square yellow colored brick and concrete structure. The first story is horizontal lines of yellow colored brick with a concrete band running horizontally. A wide cornice runs below the roof line of the flat roof.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed by Robert Hawthorne and William Hawthorne in 1868.



N – Knox County and Daviess County

E – Dubois County

S – Warrick County

W – Gibson County














Photos taken 2008