Jennings County

US States / H-L / Indiana / Jennings County

Jennings County is named for Jonathan Jennings, who was the first Governor of Indiana and a nine term congressman.


Created:  December 27, 1816

County Seat: 

Vernon  1817 – present


County Courthouse – Vernon  


Location:  24 North Pike Street / Jackson Street

Built:  1857 – 1861

Style:  Italianate

Architect:  Isaac Hodgson of Indianapolis

Contractor:  Samuel Read of Vernon


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick structure. The west entrance has an arch above the entrance which is trimmed with stone. On the northwest corner rises a five story square clock tower with wide cornice at the top. Stone trim decorates the windows. The building was restored in 1986. The architect was Mozingo Associates Architects Inc. and the contractor was Taylor Brothers Construction Company.


County Administration – Vernon  




Location:  Brown Street / Perry Street

Built:  1998 – 1999

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Prince / Alexander Architects, Inc.

Contractor:  Prince / Alexander Architects, Inc. and Dennis Jones


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick structure. The south front has a one story porch on the west side. The center section has three long arched windows. On the southwest corner is a three story tower with windows on the third story.



N – Bartholomew County and Decatur County

E – Ripley County

S – Jefferson County and Scott County

W – Jackson County























Photos taken 2008