Bottineau County

US States / N / North Dakota / Bottineau County

Bottineau County is named for Pierre Bottineau ( 1814-1895 ), a respected Metis guide.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Saskatchewan, Canada and Manitoba, Canada

E – Rolette County

S – Pierce CountyMcHenry County and Renville County

W – Renville County


Created:  January 4, 1873                      Map of North Dakota highlighting Bottineau County

County Seat: 

Bottineau  1884 – present


County Courthouse – Bottineau  


Location:  314 5th Street West / Ohmer Street

Built:  1975 – 1976

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Brunner, Hoefel, Torno & Nester

Contractor:  Mattson Construction Company


Description: The building faces south and is a two story glass and concrete structure. The main entrance is along the south side. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Bottineau. The west part of the building is two stories and the east part is one story. The windows are narrow in height and run horizontally around the building. The roof line is flat.The building houses the County District Court of the Northeast Judicial District.


See:  The architect, Brunner, Hoefel, Torno & Nester and the contractor, Mattson Construction Company, also designed and constructed the courthouse in Rolette County.


See:  The Norrheast Judicial District includes Benson CountyCavalier County, McHenry County, Pembina County. Pierce County, Ramsey County, Renville County, Rolette CountyTowner County and Walsh County


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Bottineau was selected as the county seat in 1884. The first courthouse was a saloon purchased in 1884 in Bottineau. In 1888 the second courthouse was a school house. The third courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by Frank Foss and constructed by O A Braseth in 1901. The building was enlarged in 1953. The contractor was Frank Simek. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1975 to 1976.




County Courthouse – Bottineau


































Photos taken 2007, 2009 and 2016