DeKalb County

US States / H-L / Indiana / DeKalb County

DeKalb County is named for Johann, Baron de Kalb, who was an American Revolutionary War hero and who lived from 1721 to 1780.


Surrounding County  Courthouses: 

N – Steuben County

E – Williams County, Ohio and Defiance County, Ohio

S – Allen County

W – Noble County


Created:  February 7, 1835                                                        Map of Indiana highlighting DeKalb County

County Seat:

Auburn  1837 – present


County Courthouse – Auburn  


Location:  100 South Main Street / West 7th Street

Built:  1911 – 1914

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Mahurin & Mahurin of Fort Wayne

Contractor:  J B Goodall of Peru.


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story stone  structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Auburn. The center section of the west front projects from the main building and has a stone framed entrance on the first story. Two large columns rise from the second to third stories. Above is a pediment with clock. A balustrade runs along the roof line. The interior has a Florentine Art Glasss dome in the center of it, which is illuminated by sunlight during the day, and 60 electric lights at night. Under the dome is a veterans’ memorial, dedicated to the local veterans who have served. The large courtroom is located on the third story.


Note:  The courthouse also boasts a fairly unique timepiece – a Master Clock. This clock was constructed in 1912, by the Hahl Automatic Clock Company. This Master Clock still runs, and controls every clock in the building ( part of the Clock System that was originally installed. ).


See:  The architect, Mahurin & Mahurin ( Wing ) of Fort Wayne also designed courthouses in Hancock County, LaPorte County, Monroe County and Starke County.


History:  Auburn was named as the county seat in 1837. The first courthouse was built in 1843 and was burned in 1864. The second courthouse was constructed by Alpheus Wheelock, William Valleau and John McKay in 1864. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1911 to 1914 at a cost of $317,072.




County Courthouse – Auburn






















Master Clock






















Photos taken 2008