Williams County

US States / O-U / Ohio / Williams County

Williams County is named for David Williams, who was the captor of spy John Andre during the America Revolutionary War.


Created:  April 1, 1820

County Seat:

Bryan  1820 – present


County Courthouse – Bryan 


Location:  1 Courthouse Square / High Street

Built:  1889 – 1890

Style:  French Baroque and Romanesque

Architect:  Edward O Fallis & Company of Toledo

Contractor:  Malone Brothers & Earhart of Toledo


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and Bera and Amherst limestone structure. The south front has a stone framed entrance on the first story with small round towers on either side with red colored domes. The third story has a columned front with steep green roof. Round towers are at each corner of the building. On the center of the roof is a large square red brick tower with clock and sloped roof.


See: The architect, Edward Oscar Fallis & Company of Toledo, also designed the courthouses in Paulding County; and in Indiana in  Noble Countyin Kansas in Montgomery County; and in Michigan in Lenawee County and Monroe County.



N – Hillsdale County, Michigan

E – Fulton County and Henry County

S – Defiance County

W – DeKalb County, Indiana and Steuben County, Indiana

















Photos taken 2010