Canada Courthouses / Saskatchewan / Weyburn
A- Weyburn

Weyburn is named for a corruption of the Scottish woods “wee burn” meaning “small creek”.


Location:  Weyburn is located in the southeast part of the Province.

Judicial District:  Estevan Judicial District


Courthouse – Weyburn


Location:  301 Prairie Avenue NE / 3rd Street

Built:  1928

Style:  Colonial Revival

Architect:  Maurice William Sharon of Regina

Contractor:  Wilson and Wilson, Limited of Regina


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red coloured brick structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds on the north side of the centre of Weyburn. The south front has a small portico on the first story supported by two columns, The second story windows have shutters. A horizontal belt runs below the first story and below the windows on the second story. The hipped roof has four dormers. On the centre of the roof is an open white coloured cupola. The courtroom is along the centre of the south side second story. The building houses the Provincial Court.


Note:  The building is one of a series of courthouses designed by the office of the provincial architect. Several towns and cities were designated as judicial centres where court houses would be built. The cost of construction of the courthouse was $81,274.



See:  The architect, Maurice William Sharon of Regina, designed courthouses in  Assiniboia, Estevan, Gravelbourg, Kerrobert, Melfort, Prince Albert, ShaunovanWynyard and Yorkton.




















Photos taken 2012 and 2013