Ross County

US States / O-U / Ohio / Ross County

Ross County is named for James Ross, who was a Senator from Pennsylvania and a Federalist.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Pickaway County

E – Hocking CountyVinton County and Jackson County

S – Pike County

W – Highland County and Fayette County


Created:  August 20, 1798                      Map of Ohio highlighting Ross County

County Seat:

Chillicothe  1798 – present


County Courthouse – Chillicothe  


Location:  2 North Paint Street / West Main Street

Built:  1855 – 1859

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Edward Collins and Charles Autenrieth of Philadelphia

Contractor:  Joseph Cook, Samuel Cook and William Flood


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located in the center of Chillicothe. The east front has a veneer of Greenfield Dolomite and a large stone arched portico rising to the top of the second story with three opening along the east side. Red colored brick faces the rest of the building. A high square tower rises on the east side and is a timber frame, but sheathed in metal painted to look like the stone veneer and has a clock on each side near the top. The one story north and south wings extend along Paint Street. In the interior is a wooden staircase. The Country Court of Common Pleas courtroom is located on the second story.  The building houses the County Court of Common Pleas – General, Juvenile and Probate Divisions. The cupola was added in 1859 and the clock was added in 1867. The building was renovated in 1901. In 1929 the north and south wings were constructed. The architect was John Schweitzer. The building was renovated in 1961 and in 2006.


Note:  A note was found under the staircase during the 1961 renovations with the names of the original contractors Joseph Cook, Samuel Cook and William Flood. 


See:  A replica of the first courthouse built in 1801 is located at 50 West Main Street and was constructed in 1940 for the Chillicothe Gazette.


See:  Located in the county is the Ohio Court of Appeals – Chillicothe.


History:  The county was created in 1798 and Chillicothe was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a square shaped two story stone structure built in 1801 of Berea Sandstone, and was known as “Old Stone” .The building is an example of the “Foursquare Courthouse” form also found in Meigs County and Perry County. The building served as the first Ohio statehouse from 1803 to 1810 and 1812 to 1816. The courthouse was demolished in 1852. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1855 to 1859.




County Courthouse - Chillicothe








































Photos taken 2011 and 2018