Park County

US States / M / Montana / Park County

Park County is named for Yellowstone National Park which is nearby. 


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Meagher County

E – Sweet Grass CountyStillwater County and Carbon County

S – Park County, Wyoming

W – Gallatin County


Created:  February 23, 1887                  Map of Montana highlighting Park County

County Seat: 

Livingston  1887 – present


County Courthouse – Livingston 


Location:  414 East Callender Street / South D Street

Built:  1975 – 1976

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Johnson Graham Associates

Contractor:  Bruce Andersen Company Inc.


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a one story gray colored concrete and glass structure. The building is located in the center of Livingston. The northwest front has a glassed entrance in the center. The building has a wide overhang and dividing pillar. The courtroom is located in the center. The building also houses the City of Livingston offices and is named the City-County Complex.


History:  The county was created in 1887 and Livingston was selected as as the county seat. The county used rented premises. The first courthouse was a two story structure designed by George A Gordon and constructed by Day & Hornbeck in 1896. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1975 to 1976.


Note:  The highest point in Montana is Granite Peak at 12,807 feet ( 3904 meters ) which is located in the county.




County Courthouse – Livingston













Photos taken 2011