Wheatland County

US States / M / Montana / Wheatland County

Wheatland County is named for the many wheat fields in the county.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Judith Basin County and Fergus County

E – Golden Valley County

S – Golden Valley County and Sweet Grass County

W – Meagher County


Created:  February 22, 1917                  Map of Montana highlighting Wheatland County

County Seat: 

Harlowton  1917 – present


County Courthouse – Harlowton 


Location:  201 A Avenue NW / 2nd Street NW

Built:  1910 – 1911

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  John Hackett Kent

Contractor:  Richard E Wright of Augusta


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story course gray colored stone structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Harlowton. The north front has a projecting center section with large arch on the first story and rising to a point with arched window above the roof line. The green colored roof is sloped. The building houses the County District Court of the 14th Judicial District. The building was built as a school and was converted in 1938 to the courthouse. The building was renovated in 1940. The architect was Angus V McIver of Great Falls.


History:  The county was created in 1917 and Harlowton was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was the old bank building at Central Avenue North and 2nd Street NE. The second courthouse was the school built in 1910 to 1911 and converted in 1938.




County Courthouse - Harlowton 













Photos taken 2011