Stillwater County

US States / M / Montana / Stillwater County

Stillwater County is named for the Stillwater River which is named for its very slow current.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Golden Valley County 

E – Yellowstone County and Carbon County

S – Carbon County and Park County

W – Sweet Grass County and Golden Valley County


Created:  March 24, 1913                       Map of Montana highlighting Stillwater County

County Seat: 

Columbus  1913 – present


County Courthouse – Columbus 


Location:  400 North 3rd Street / East 4th Avenue North

Built:  1918 – 1921

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Warren A Dedrick of Billings

Contractor:  James & Ainslie of Helena


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Columbus. The south front has an extending portico supported by two large columns which rise from the first story to the top of the second story. Above is a wide header with three windows on the third story. A wide cornice runs between the second and third stories. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the courtroom is located on the west side of the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 22nd Judicial District and County Justice Court. On the west side is the Old Sheriff Residence.


See:  The 22nd Judicial District includes Big Horn County, Carbon County and Stillwater County.  


History:  The county was created in 1913 and Columbus was selected as the county seat. The county offices occupied a building on Pike Avenue. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1919 to 1921.




County Courthouse – Columbus
















Old Sheriff Residence – Columbus




Photos taken 2009 and 2022