Gallatin County

US States / M / Montana / Gallatin County

Gallatin County is named for Albert Gallatin, who was United States Secretary of the Treasury at the time of the Lewis and Clark Expedition.


Created:  February 2, 1865

County Seat: 

Gallatine City  1865 – 1867

Bozeman         1865 – present


County Courthouse – Bozeman 


Location:  311 West Main Street / North 3rd Avenue

Built:  1934 – 1935

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Fred F Wilson of Bozeman

Contractor:  Mead & Mount of Denver, Colorado


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story stone, concrete and glass  structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Bozeman. The south front has vertical sections which divide the windows and entrances on the first story. The center section projects from the main building. The building has a flat roof. The former courtroom is located on the second story.


Note:  The county government was housed in private residences in Gallatin City until 1867 when the county seat was moved to Bozeman. The first and previous courthouse was designed by B Vreeland and F W Vreeland and constructed by Shaffer & Yergy in 1880 to 1881 at a cost of $25,000. An addition was constructed at the rear of the courthouse in 1884 at a cost of $6,017. An addition was designed by Charles & Haire in 1902. In 1910 a new jail was designed by Fred F Wilson and constructed next to the courthouse at a cost of $35,000.


County Law and Justice Center – Bozeman 




Location:  615 South 16th Avenue / West Dickerson Street

Built:  1961 – 1962

Style:  Schoolhouse Modern

Architect:  Norman Hamill and Associates of Butte

Contractor:  Haggerty-Messmer


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story brown colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds to the south of the center of Bozeman. The south front has horizontal white bands with horizontal windows below each band. The central entrance is recessed. The roof line is flat. .


Note:  In November 2019, voters will decide on the construction of a new Law and Justice Center at a cost of $59,000,000,



N – Broadwater County and Meagher County

E – Park County and Park County, Wyoming

S – Fremont County, Idaho

W – Madison County





County Courthouse – Bozeman













County Law and Justice Center – Bozeman




Photos taken 2009 and 2011