Meagher County

US States / M / Montana / Meagher County

Meagher County is named for Thomas Francis Meagher, who was an acting Governor of the Montana Territory.


Created:  November 16, 1867

County Seat: 

White Sulphur Springs  1867 – present


County Courthouse – White Sulphur Springs 


Location:  15 West Main Street / Central Avenue North

Built:  1951 – 1952

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Edwin C Osuess of Billings

Contractor:  E F Drew of Miles City


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick, white stucco and concrete structure. The south center section projects slightly and has vertical dividers with windows between. The roof line is flat. Plans had been prepared by J G Link of Billings in 1939 but the construction of the building did not proceed.



N– Cascade County and Judith Basin County

E – Wheatland County

S – Park County and Gallatin County

W – Broadwater County and Lewis and Clark County

















Photos taken 2011