St. Francois County

US States / M / Missouri / St. Francois County
St. Francois

St. Francois County is named for St. Francis of Assisi, who was a Catholic deacon and founder of the Order of Friars Minor known as Franciscans.


Created:  December 19, 1821

County Seat:

Farmington  1821 – present


County Courthouse – Farmington  


Location:  NE – Columbia Street / North Jefferson Street

Built:  1925 – 1927

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Norman B Howard of Bonsack and Pearce of St. Louis

Contractor:  McCarthy Construction Company.


Description: The building faces south and is a three story Carthage marble and Bedford limestone structure. The south front has a projecting portico supported by four columns rising to the top of the second story. Above the portico is a three arch section on the third story with clock at the top. Vertical columns adorn the main building and rise to a cornice below the third story windows. The roof line is flat. 


County Courthouse Annex – Farmington  




Location:  1 West Liberty Street / North Jefferson Street

Built:  2005 – 2007

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Kromm Rikimaru & Johnsen

Contractor:  Brockmiller Construction of Farmington


Description: The building faces south and is a two story buff brick, concrete and glass structure. Located on landscaped grounds, the building is located on the north side of the courthouse. The south front has a porch with six columns rising to a header. A wide band runs below the flat roof line. A center section rises above the roof line. 


Note:  The cost of construction was $3,300,000


N – Jefferson County

E – Ste. Genevieve County and Perry County

S – Madison County and Iron County

W – Iron County and Washington County














Photos taken 2009