Iron County

US States / M / Missouri / Iron County

Iron County is named for the abundance of iron ore in the area.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Crawford CountyWashington County and St. Francois County

E – St. Francois CountyMadison County and Wayne County

S – Wayne County

W – Reynolds CountyDent County and Crawford County


Created:  February 17, 1857                  Map of Missouri highlighting Iron County

County Seat:

Ironton  1857 – present


County Courthouse – Ironton  


Location:  250 South Main Street / West Wayne Street

Built:  1858 – 1860

Style:  Federalist

Architect:  Henry H Wright

Contractor:  George S Evans and William F Mitchell


Description: The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Ironton. The building was originally 50 feet by 65 feet. There is white colored stone trim at the corners. The second story windows are arched. A white colored horizontal stone band runs between the first and second stories. A small octagonal cupola sits above the east entrance.. In 1964, a three story addition was added to the west side which extended the building to 110 feet. The architect was Hutchens and Frangkiser of Kansas City.


See:  The 42nd Judicial District covers Crawford CountyDent County, Iron CountyReynolds County and Wayne County.


History:  The county was created in 1857 and Ironton was selected as the county seat. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1858 to 1860 at a cost of $14, 000. The cost of construction of the addition constructed in 1964 was $113,000.


 Note:  The highst point in Missoui is Taum Sauk Mountain at 1,772 feet ( 540 meters ) which is located in the county.




County Courthouse – Ironton













Photos taken 2009