Madison County

US States / M / Missouri / Madison County

Madison County is named for James Madison, who was the fourth President of the United States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – St. Francois County

E – Perry County and Bollinger County

S – Bolilnger County

W – Iron County


Created:  February 14, 1818                  Map of Missouri highlighting Madison County

County Seat:

Fredericktown  1818 – present


County Courthouse – Fredericktown


Location:  1 Courthouse Square / Main Street

Built:  1888 – 1889

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  Theodore C Link

Contractor:  Caldwell and Drake of Columbus, Indiana.


Description: The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located in the center of Courthouse Square and 66 feet by 76 feet. The front has a projecting four story red colored brick tower with arched entrance on the first story and steep roof at the top. The building is tiered with two story wings on either side. The base of the building is rough stone. The roof is hipped.


See:  The 24th Judicial District covers Madison County, St. Francois CountySte. Genevieve County, and Washington County.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1822. The cost of construction was $22,000.



County Courthouse - Fredericktown 



















Photos taken 2009