Carver County

US States / M / Minnesota / Carver County

Carver County is named after Captain Jonathon Carver who explored the Minnesota area as early as 1766.


Created:  February 20, 1855

County Seat:

Chaska  1855 – present


County Justice Center – Chaska


Location:  600 East Fourth Street / Beech Street

Built:  1993 – 1994

Style:  Modern / Corporate International

Architect:  Wold Associates

Contractor:  CAM Construction Management


Description:  The building faces north and  is two story concrete and glass structure. The building forms the southern section of the courthouse complex. The north front has a glass entrance with glass panels above and on the west side. The west section of the building extends north. The building is connected to the courthouse building on the north side. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1857 and completed in 1872. The building was used until 1966. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $1,500,000.


County Courthouse – Chaska




Location: 600 East Fourth Street / Beech Street

Built:  1963 – 1966

Style:  Modern / Corporate International

Architect:  Stegner-Hendrickson/McNutt of Brainerd and Ericksen/Ellison Associates of Saint Paul

Contractor:  Adolfson & Peterson Inc.


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story concrete and glass structure. The building forms the central and norther sections of the courthouse complex. The flat surface of the two-story portion on the west is relieved by a low curve like a waning moon jutting from the roof. The north one-story section joins the other section with a one-story glass entrance concourse. The brownish-red colored colored brick of the exterior is framed with a band of light face stone, all on reinforced concrete. Narrow vertical windows reaching floor to ceiling are spaced at regular intervals.



N – Wright County and Hennepin County

E – Hennepin County and Scott County

S – Scott County and Sibley County

W – McLeod County








Photos taken 2007