Hennepin County

US States / M / Minnesota / Hennepin County

Hennepin County is named for Father Louis Hennepin, who was an early explorer in the area.


Created:   February 23, 1854

County Seat:

Minneapolis  1855 – present


County Courthouse – Minneapolis


Location:  300 South 6th Street / 4th Avenue

Built:  1969 – 1977

Style:  Modern

Architect:   John Carl Warnecke and Associates of San Francisco and Peterson, Clark and Associates of Minneapolis

Contractor:  Knudson Construction Services and M A Mortsenson Company


Description:  The building faces north and  is a twenty-four story carnelian red granite from Ortonville structure. The building was completed in 1973. The building consists of two towers rising 403 feet with a glass atrium between. The west tower has the county administration and the east tower has the courts. The diagonal braces are steel sprayed with fire proofing material to which a cream-colored porcelain type material was fused. The building sits atop 6th Street which runs through the towers.


Note:  The cost of construction was $50,000,000.


Old County Courthouse – Minneapolis




Location:  350 South 5th Street / 4th Avenue

Built:  1888 – 1905

Style:  Richardsonian Romanesquen

Architect:  Franklin Bidwell Long and Francis Kees

Contractor:  C F Haglin & Sons


Description:  The building faces south and is a four story brown colored carnelian granite  structure. The south front has a high square stone tower. The building sits on the north side of a plaza with the new courthouse on the south side. The spacious rotunda houses the statue of the “Father of Waters,” a colossal work of sculptor Larkin Goldsmith Mead, who carved the statue while residing in Florence, Italy. The building was the former courthouse. and now services as the Minneapolis City Hall.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1857.



N – Wright County, Sherburne County and Anoka County

E – Anoka County and Ramsay County

S – Dakota County, Scott County and Carver County

W – Carvar County and Wright County






































Photos taken 2010