Gooding County

US States / H-L / Idaho / Gooding County

Gooding County is named for Frank R Gooding, who was the seventh Governor of Idaho and a United States Senator.


Created:  February 8, 1913

County Seat: 

Gooding  1913 – present


County Courthouse – Gooding 


Location:  624 Main Street / 6th Avenue East

Built:  1969 – 1971

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Watson and Leatham of Boise

Contractor:  Louis J Ellsworth Construction Company of Blackfoot


Description:  The building  faces west and is a one story light colored brick structure. The west front has a porch at the center section supported by six brick pillars. There is a wide horizontal band running along the flat roof line.


Note:  The previous courthouse was a hotel built in 1908. The building was converted and enlarged by F R Gooding.



N – Camas County

E – Lincoln County and Jerome County

S – Twin Falls County

W – Elmore County











Photos taken 2011