Llano County

US States / O-U / Texas / Llano County

Llano County is named for the Llano River which is the Spanish word for “plain”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – San Saba County

E – Burnet County

S – Blanco County and Gillespie County

W – Mason County


Created:  February 1, 1856                    Map of Texas highlighting Llano County

County Seat: 

Llano  1856 – present


County Courthouse – Llano  


Location:  832 Ford Street / Main Street

Built:  1892 – 1893

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  A O Watson and Jacob Larmour of Austin

Contractor:  J A Wilson and G H Wilson of Sulphur Springs


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story brownish colored sandstone, marble and granite structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Llano. The east front has a projecting center section with two columns at the entrance with small balcony on the second story and arched window with peaked section above. On the northeast is a high square tower with clock and smaller open square tower above with black colored roof. On the other corners are large square sections with narrow windows on the third story. The windows on the second story are arched and the roof is hipped. In the interior, the first story has cross-hallways diving the floor into quadrants. The stairways have ornamental newels and balusters. While the railings, balusters and newels are wood, the treads of the stairs are iron, manufactured by F Heierman and Brothers of Austin. The large two story courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the State District Court. The architect was A O Watson and Jacob Larmour of Austin and the contractor was J A Wilson and G H Wilson of Sulphur Springs. The building was restored in 2002. The architect was Volz and Associates and the contractor was Phoenix I Restoration and Construction, Ltd. To the southwest is the County Courthouse Annex which houses the Constitutional County Court. To the northeast is the old County Jail built in 1895.


See:  The architect, W O Watson designed other courthouses in De Witt County, Haskell CountyMilam County and Val Verde County.


History:  The county was created in 1856 and Llano was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a one story frame structure built in 1859 and burned in 1880. The second courthouse was a stone structure designed by C S Jones and constructed by J K Finely in 1880 10 1881. The third courthouse was a brick structure designed by Alfred Giles and constructed by S White in 1885 at a cost of $17,060 and burned on January 22, 1892. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1892 to 1893 at a cost of $47,000.




County Courthouse – Llano























































Photos taken 2009, 2014 and 2017