Union County

US States / O-U / South Carolina / Union County

Union County is named for the Union Church.


Created:  March 2, 1785

County Seat: 

Union  1785 – present


County Courthouse – Union 


Location:  210 West Main Street / Gadberry Street

Built:  1911 – 1912

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Anthony Ten Eyck Brown

Contractor:  John Jefferson Cain


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Union. The building has a large semi circular portico with eight large columns rising to a roof which has a balustrade. The entrance is recessed and framed with windows above on the second story. There are panels between the first and second story windows.


See:   Anthony Ten Eyck Brown also designed the courthouse in Florida in Miami-Dade County and in Georgia in Cherokee County, Clarke County and Fulton County.


History:  The first courthouse was designed by Robert Mills and constructed with native granite in 1827. The courthouse was torn down in 19108 for the construction of the second and present courthouse erected in 1911 to 1912.



N – Cherokee County

E – York County, Chester County and Fairfield County

S – Newberry County and Laurens County

W – Spartanburg County





County Courthouse – Union







Photos taken 2008