Richland County

US States / O-U / South Carolina / Richland County

Richland County is named for the rich soil in the region.


Created:  March 2, 1875

County Seat: 

Columbia  1785 – present


County Courthouse – Columbia  


Location:  1701 Main Street / Blanding Street

Built:  1978 – 1980

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Geiger-McElveen-Kennedy

Contractor:  Congaree Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a four story gray colored stone and concrete structure. The building entrance at the northeast corner has a large overhang supported by five columns. The recessed entrance is faced with dark glass. On the west side of the entrance, small protruding sections are on the second and third stories.


Note:  A courthouse was built in 1872 and an addition was designed in 1906 by Shand & Lafey. In 1935, James B Urquhart designed the previous courthouse.


County Administration – Columbia  




Location:  2020 Hampton Street / Harden Street

Built:  1987 – 1989

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Architectural Engineering Associates Inc.

Contractor:  Davidson & Jones Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building entrance is at the northeast corner which has a large semi circular overhang supported by eleven pillars. The center section is one story with glass skylight. The east and west wings are red colored brick with dark glass walls along the north and east sides. In the center is a large landscaped courtyard.


See:  Located in the county are the South Carolina Appeal Court and the South Carolina Supreme Court.



N – Newberry County and Fairfield County

E – Kershaw County and Sumter County

S – Calhoun County

W – Calhoun County and Lexington County























Photos taken 2008