Fulton County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Fulton County

Fulton County is named for Robert Fulton, who was the inventor of the first successful steamboat, and who lived from 1765 to 1815.


Created:  December 20, 1853

County Seat: 

Atlanta  1853 – present


County Courthouse – Atlanta 


Location:  136 Pryor Street NW / Martin Luther King Jr. Drive

Built:  1911 – 1914

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival / Beaux Arts Classisism

Architect:  Anthony Ten Eyck Brown and Morgan and Dillon, Architects

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces west and is a ten story gray stone and concrete structure. The building is the largest public structure built in the classical idiom in Atlanta. The inset section of six giant Corinthian semidetached columns overpowers the modest arched entrances, and looks tightly squeezed in a facade otherwise punctured by utilitarian openings. This arrangement contributes to the general impression of heaviness and mismatched proportions.


See:   Anthony Ten Eyck Brown also designed the courthouse in Cherokee County and Clarke County and in Florida in the Miami-Dade County,


County Justice Center – Atlanta 




Location:  195 Central Avenue SW / Martin Luther King Jr. Drive

Built:  1991 – 1993

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces east and is a nine story concrete and glass structure.


Old Campbell County Courthouse – Fairburn


Location:  Northeast Broad Street / Cole Street

Built:  1871 – 1872

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Smith & Brother.

Contractor:  Smith & Brother.


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the city center. The northwest has four 20 foot high modeled concrete columns. Against the front wall is a full-length, double-curved, wrought-iron-encased stairway. The stairway frames the main floor central (double-door) entrance and has a narrow landing in front of the central single doorway upstairs entrance. Both front entrances are arched and have fan-lighting. The roof is hipped. In 1907, the building was remodeled.


Note:  The cost of construction was $10,674.


See:  Located in the county is the Georgia Supreme Court.



N – Cherokeee County and Forsyth County

E – Gwinnett County, DeKalb County and Clayton County

S – Fayette County and Coweta County

W – Carroll County, Douglas County and Cobb County





County Courthouse

























County Justice Center







Photos taken 2013 and 2018