York County

US States / O-U / South Carolina / York County

York County is named for York County in Pennsylvania.


Created:  March 2, 1785

County Seat: 

York  1785 – present


County Courthouse – York 


Location:  25 South Congress Street / West Liberty Street

Built:  1914 – 1915

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  William Augustus Edwards of Darlington

Contractor:  Travers-Wood Company of Richmond, Virginia


Description: The building faces east and is a three story yellow colored brick structure. The building has a large portico supported by four large columns rising to a pediment below the roof line. The entrance doorway is framed with stone. Behind the portico is a green header at the top of the brick wall. The roof is hipped. A wing extends on the south side and on the west side and was built in 1955. In 2014, the building stands unoccupied.


Note:  Rock Hill Heating and Plumbing Company was awarded the contract for the heating and plumbing in 1914. Other courthouses designed by William Augustus Edwards are located in Abbeville County, Calhoun County, Dillon County, Jasper CountyLee County and Sumter County.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by Robert Mills and built in 1823. An addition was added in 1896.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – York County Courthouse


County Justice Center – York 




Location:  1675 York Highway / Justice Boulevard

Built:  1991 – 1994

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Odell Associates, Inc of Charlotte, North Carolina

Contractor:  Pizzagalli Construction Company, Inc. of Burlington, Vermont


Description: The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick, glass and concrete structure. The building is “L” shaped with a south wing and west wing. The north front has a one story porch with brick pillars which runs part way along the south wing and along the west wing. The second story windows are horizontal.  Horizontal belts run across the exterior. The roof line is flat. The building is named as the Joseph R Moss Criminal Justice Center.


Note:  During construction, four of the five subcontractor went bankrupt which delayed completion.



N – Cleveland County, North Carolina, Gaston County, North Carolina and Mecklenburg County, North Carolina

E – Mecklenburg County, North Carolina and Lancaster County

S – Chester County

W – Union County and Cherokee County





























Photos taken 2008 and 2014