Laurens County

US States / O-U / South Carolina / Laurens County

Laurens County is named for Henry Laurens, who was the president of the Continental Congress.


Created:  March 2, 1785

County Seat: 

Laurens  1785 – present


County Courthouse – Laurens 


Location:  Public Square / South Street

Built:  1838 – 1839

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Dr. John Wells Simpson

Contractor:  Thomas C Veal


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story white colored stucco and brick structure. Located in the center of the Public Square, the building has a portico supported by four large columns on the south and north sides. Staircases ascend to the second story entrances. The building has narrow vertical windows. An addition was added in 1857. In 1911, a further addition was added. The architect was Ten Eyck Brown and Proffitt & Hampton. An addition was added in 1940.


County Judicial Center – Laurens 


Location:  100 Hillcrest Square / Spring Street

Built:  Unknown

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story stucco and concrete structure. The building is located next to the Barksdale Square Shopping Center. The center section has two one story porticoes with peaked roof and clock behind. The building is named as the Laurens County Judicial Center. 



N – Spartanburg County and Union County

E – Newberry County

S – Greenwood County and Abbeville County

W – Anderson County and Greenville County











Photos taken 2008