Cherokee County

US States / O-U / South Carolina / Cherokee County

Cherokee County is named for the Cherokee Native American people.


Created:  February 25, 1897

County Seat: 

Gaffney  1897 – present


County Courthouse – Gaffney


Location: 125 East Floyd Baker Boulevard / North Petty Street

Built: 1929 – 1930

Style: Neo-Classical

Architect: M R Marsh

Contractor: Brown-Harry Inc.


Description: The building faces southwest and is a two story gray colored limestone structure. The building is rectangular and the main entrance is located in the center with a stone frame and a light standard on either side. The center section has vertical pilasters between the windows. The east and west sections project slightly from the main building. A projecting cornice runs below the flat roof line.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed in 1898.


County Administration – Gaffney 




Location:  210 North Limestone Street / West Floyd Baker Boulevard

Built:  1913 – 1914

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Arthur W Hamby of Hamby & Rorke, Columbia

Contractor:  S A Miller


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a one story concrete, brick, metal and wood structure. The building was constructed for use as the Carnagie Free Llibrary. The dark red colored brick building has a raised basement and a central entrance on the nortwest side. A white colored cornice runs below the roof line. An addition was added in 1937 to 1938. The contractor for the addition was S A Miller of Gaffney. Since 1972, the building has housed the County Administration.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Carnegie Free Library



N – Rutherford County, North Carolina and Cleveland County, North Carolina

E – York County

S – Union County 

W – Spartanburg County























Photos taken 2008