Crawford County

US States / O-U / Pennsylvania / Crawford County

Crawford County is named for William Crawford, who was a hero of the American Revolutionary War.


Created:  March 12, 1800

County Seat:

Meadville  1800


County Courthouse – Meadville  


Location:  903 Diamond Park / East Center Lane

Built:  1952 – 1954

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Edwin S Hanna and D Fuller Stewart of Meadville

Contractor:  L H Ludwig of Falconer, New York


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The north and south wings extend from the main building. The center section has a large portico supported by four high columns with pediment above at the roof line. The wall behind the columns is faced with stone. Behind the pediment is a square clock tower with white colored cupola at the top.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1804 and the second courthouse was designed by William Strictland and built in 1825. The previous courthouse which stood on the same site as the present courthouse was designed by E L Roberts and constructed in 1867.



N – Erie County

E – Warren County

S – Venango County and Mercer County

W – Trumbull County, Ohio and Ashtabula County, Ohio























Photos taken 2010