Harper County

US States / O-U / Oklahoma / Harper County

Harper County is named for O G Harper, who was the clerk at the Constitutional Convention.


Created:  July 16, 1907

County Seat:

Buffalo  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Buffalo 


Location:  311 SE 1st Street / Maple Street

Built:  1927 – 1928

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Maurice Jayne

Contractor:  Stewart Construction Company.


Description: The building faces west and is a three story brown colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Buffalo. The west front has a projecting center section with four white colored columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story with a wide header above with crest below the roof line. A projecting cornice runs below the flat roof line. The first story has dark brown colored brick with a framed entrance.


See:  The architect, Maurice Jayne, designed the courthouses in Dewey County and Texas County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Harper County Courthouse



N – Clark County. Kansas and Comanche County, Kansas

E – Woods County and Woodward County

S – Woodward County and Ellis County

W – Beaver County





County Courthouse – Buffalo










Photos taken 2006 and 2010