Clark County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Clark County

Clark County is named for Charles F Clark, who was the captain of Company F, Sixth Kansas Cavalry and who died At Memphis on December 10, 1864.


Created:  February 26, 1867

County Seat:

Clark City  1885

Ashland     1885 – present


County Courthouse – Ashland 


Location:  913 South Highland Street / 9th Avenue

Built:  1950 – 1951

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Glen H Thomas and A B Harris of Wichita

Contractor:  D C Bass and Sons of Enid, Oklahoma


Description: The building faces east and is a two story buff colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The east front has a projecting stone faced center section with glass entrance. The windows run in a series of three windows. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The first courthouse was a two story structure designed by W R Parsons & Son and constructed by J M Anderson 1n 1888. The building was remodeled in 1932.



N – Ford County

E – Kiowa County and Comanche County

S – Harper County, Oklahoma and Beaver County, Oklahoma

W – Meade County





County Courthouse













Photos taken 2010