Erie County

US States / O-U / Ohio / Erie County

Erie County is named for the Erie Native American tribe.


Created:  March 15, 1838

County Seat:

Sandusky  1838 – present


County Courthouse – Sandusky 


Location:  323 Columbus Avenue / West Washington Street

Built:  1872 – 1875

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Henry E Myer of Meyer and Holmes

Contractor:  Miller, Frayer & Sheets


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story smooth limestone structure. The north front has a projecting center section with rectangular framed entrance on the first story. The windows on the first story are arched and on the second and third stories, are vertical. On the center of the roof rises a square stone clock tower with capped peak. The roof line is flat. The building was remodeled in 1938 and 1939. The architect was Henry Millott and the work was done under the Works Project Administration.


See:   The architect, Henry E Myer, also designed courthouses in Athens County, Columbiana CountyLicking County and Muskigum County.



N – Ottawa County, Lake Erie and Ontario, Canada

E – Lorain County

S – Huron County

W – Sandusky County





















Photos taken 2010