Tyrrell County

US States / N / North Carolina / Tyrrell County

Tyrrell County is named for John Tyrrell, who was at one time a Lords Proprietor.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Perquimans County and Pasquotank County

E – Dare County

S – Hyde County

W – Washington County


Created:  November 27, 1729                Map of North Carolina highlighting Tyrrell County

County Seat: 

Kendrick Creek  1749 – 1800

Columbia           1800 – present


County Courthouse – Columbia  


Location:  403 Main Street / Broad Street

Built:  1903 – 1904

Style:  Federal

Architect:  B F Smith Fireproof Construction Company

Contractor:  B F Smith Fireproof Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Columbia. The north front has a wide porch supported by four sets of double columns and with a wrought iron balcony along the top. The recessed entrance on the first store is arched. Above the entrance, on the second story is a small arched door and arched windows. The front of the building rises to a peaked parapet at the roof line. The green colored roof is hipped. In the interior, a hall runs the length of the first story.  There are wide reeded baseboards with rondel base blocks. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Superior Court and County District Court of the 2nd Judicial District. An addition was designed by Cahooon & Kasten and constructed by A R Chesson Company Inc. in 2003. On the grounds is the old two story red colored brick jail.


See:  The contractor, B F Smith Fireproof Construction Company, constructed courthouses in Dare CountyOnslow County and Rockingham County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Tyrrell County Courthouse


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Beaufort County, Hyde CountyMartin County and Washington County.


History:  The county was created in 1729 and the courts were held in private homes. In 1749, Kendrick Creek (Roper) was selected as the county seat and tThe first courthouse was erected on Kendrick Creek in 1749. In 1800, the county seat moved to Columbia ( Elizabeth Town ). The second courthouse was built in 1801. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1903 to 1904 at a cost of $15,000.


County Administration Building – Columbia  




Location:  108 South Water Street / Main Street

Built:  Unknown

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown.

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces west and is a one story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Columbia. The roof line is flat.




County Courthouse – Columbia













County Jail – Columbia

Photos taken 2012