Perquimans County

US States / N / North Carolina / Perquimans County

Perquiman County is named for the Perquimans Native American tribe.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Gates County

E – Pasquotank County

S – Tyrrell County

W – Chowan County


Created:  1670                                        Map of North Carolina highlighting Perquimans County

County Seat: 

Phelp’s Point  1722 – 1759

Hertford          1759 – present


County Courthouse – Hertford  


Location:  124 North Church Street / East Market Street

Built:  1824 – 1825

Style:  Georgian / Federal

Architect:  John Gatling

Contractor:  John Gatling


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story yellow colored stucco structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Hertford. The west front has a small portico with two columns rising to a pediment above the entrance.  On the roof is a large pediment with fanlight. The roof is hipped roof. The courtroom is located on the main story. There are smaller north and south wings. The building was renovated in 1890, 1932 and 1952.


Note:  John Gatling, who designed and constructed the courthouse, was a tavern keeper and prominent planter in the county. The courthouse is the second oldest courthouse in North Carolina still used as a courthouse. The oldest courthouse is located in Chowan County.


See:  The only other Federal style courthouse is located in Gates County.


History:  The first courts met at private homes. The first courthouse was built in 1722 at Phelp’s Point ( Hertford ). Hertford became the county seat in 1759.  The second and present courthouse was erected in 1824.




County Courthouse – Hertford






















Photos taken 2012