Burke County

US States / N / North Carolina / Burke County
Burke -O

Burke County is named for Thomas Burke, who was a member of the Continental Congress and governor of North Carolina.


Created:  April 7, 1777

County Seat: 

Morganton  1777 – present


Old County Courthouse – Morganton 


Location:  South Green Street / East Union Street

Built:  1834 – 1835

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  James Binnie

Contractor:  James Binnie


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story buff colored brick structure. The building is constructed with locally cut stone. The southwest front has a portico on the second story with four thin columns rising to a pediment. On the center of the roof is a large cupola. The building was remodeled in 1901. The architect was Frank P Milburn. The building now houses a museum.


County Courthouse – Morganton  




Location:  1 South Green Street / East Meeting Street

Built:  1975 – 1976

Style:  Modern

Architect:  J T Pegram of Statesville

Contractor:  C & L Construction


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a one story buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The southwest front has a recessed center section with glass wall and projecting central entrance with glass doors. A wide concrete band runs below the flat roof line. The building descends a slope on the northeast side.


See:  The architect,  J T Pegram of Statesville, also designed the courthouse in Iredell County.



N – Avery County and Caldwell County

E – Caldwell CountyCatawba County and Lincoln County

S – Cleveland County and Rutherford County

W – McDowell County
































Photos taken 2012