McDowell County

US States / N / North Carolina / McDowell County

McDowell County is named for Joseph McDowell, who was a soldier in the American Revolutionary War and who took part in the Battle of Kings Mountain.


Created:  December 19, 1842

County Seat: 

Marion  1842 – present


County Courthouse – Marion  


Location:  495 Main Street / Court Street

Built:  1921 – 1923

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Eric Gulick Stillwell

Contractor:  Southern Ferro Concrete Company


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a three story yellow-brown colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The southwest front has horizontal brickwork on the first story with a central entrance. On the second and third stories are five large vertical windows. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed in 1844 and remodeled in 1902 by B F Smith Fireproof Construction Company. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $210,000.



N – Yancey CountyMitchell County and Avery County

E – Burke County 

S – Rutherford County

W – Buncombe County and  Yancey County 














Photos taken 2012