Lincoln County

US States / N / North Carolina / Lincoln County

Lincoln County is named for Benjamin Lincoln, who was a major general during the American Revolutionary War who participated in the Siege of Yorktown and who lived from 1733 to 1810.


Created:  April 14, 1778

County Seat: 

Lincolnton  1785 – present


County Courthouse – Lincolnton 


Location:  1 Courthouse Square / West Main Street

Built:  1921 – 1922

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  James A Salter

Contractor:  Henry Kistler


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story gray colored cut-stone masonry and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of the courthouse circle and has a large portico on the east and west sides, supported by six large Doric columns rising to a pediment. A higher roof is behind and wings extend north and south. A projecting cornice runs between the second and third stories. The building was remodeled in 1985.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed in 1853. The building was demolished.



N – Catawba County

E – Iredell County and Mecklenburg County

S – Gaston County

W – Cleveland County and Burke County























Photos taken 2008 and 2012