Union County

US States / N / New Mexico / Union County

Union County was formed from the eastern portions of Colfax, Mora and San Miguel Counties, and was named for that formation of “union”.


Created:  February 23, 1893

County Seat:

Clayton  1893 – present


County Courthouse – Clayton  


Location:  200 Court Street / South 2nd Avenue

Built:  1909 – 1910

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  D P Kaufman and Son

Contractor:  J W Wooten and N V Bundy.


Description: The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of the city. On the center of the roof is a large white colored octagonal dome with white colored roof. On the north front are four large white colored columns rising to the top of the second story with a red colored brick parapet above. Stone trim decorates the corners of the building.


Note:  The first courthouse was designed by Isaac Rapp and constructed by John Hill in 1894 to 1895 and was damaged by a tornado in 1908. The second and present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $30,000. The courthouse is the oldest county courthouse in New Mexico in continuous use.



N – Las Aminas County, Colorado and Baca County, Colorado

E – Cimarron County, Oklahoma, Dallam County, Texas and Hartley County, Texas

S – Quay County and Harding County

W – Harding County and Colfax County





County Courthouse













Photos taken 2006 and 2007