Quay County

US States / N / New Mexico / Quay County

Quay County is named for Matthew Stanley Quay, who was a United States Senator from Pennsylvania and who supported statehood for New Mexico.


Created:  January 28, 1903

County Seat:

Tucumcari  1903 – present


County Courthouse – Tucumcari  


Location:   300 South 3rd Street / High Street

Built:  1938 – 1939

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Townes and Funk

Contractor:  C S Lambie & Company.


Description: The building faces east and is a four buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The east front of the building is faced with white colored stone and has a long vertical brick dividers framing the vertical windows. The center section rises higher than the north and south wings. The north and south wings project from the main building. The building was a Works Progress administration project.


See:  The contractor C S Lambie & Company constructed courthouses in Roosevelt County and Sierra County and in Texas in Childress County, Gregg CountyHutchinson CountyMoore CountyPotter County and Ward County.


Note:  The previous courthouse was built in 1908 and was demolished.



N – San Miguel County, Harding County and Union County 

E – Hartley County, Texas, Oldham County, Texas and Deaf Smith County, Texas

S – Curry County,  Roosevelt County and De Baca County

W – De Baca County and Guadalupe County





County Courthouse









Photos taken 2007