Rockcastle County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Rockcastle County

Rockcastle County is named for the Rockcastle River which forms the boundary with Laurel County, and Isaac Lindsey in 1767 named the river after a lone rock that looked like an ancient castle.


Created:  January 8, 1810

County Seat: 

Mount Vernon  1810 – present


County Courthouse – Mount Vernon  


Location:  200   East Main Street / Church Street

Built:  1965 – 1966

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Bayless Clotfelter and Johnson of Lexington

Contractor:  G Marcus Jones


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building has narrow windows which run vertically from the first to third story. On the north side is a small square with a three story addition along the east side which was built in 1991 to 1992. The architect was Garlan E Vanhook of Stanford and the contractor was C B & S Construction Company.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by T T Milburn and constructed in 1871.


See:  The architect, Bayless Clotfelter and Johnson of Lexington, designed courthouses in Barren County, Breathitt County and Laurel County.



N – Garrard County and Madison County

E – Jackson County and Laurel County

S – Laurel County and Pulaski County

W – Pulaski County and Lincoln County

















Photos taken 2007