Garrard County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Garrard County

Garrard County is named for James Garrard, who was Governor of Kentucky from 1796 to 1804.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Mercer County and Jessamine County

E – Madison County

S – Rockcastle County and Lincoln County

W – Lincoln CountyBoyle County and Mercer County


Created:  December 17, 1796                Map of Kentucky highlighting Garrard County

County Seat: 

Lancaster  1796 – present


County Courthouse – Lancaster  


Location:  15 Public Square / Stanford Street

Built:  1868 – 1869

Style:  Federal

Architect:  County Building Committee

Contractor:  John Haly of Frankfort


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story buff colored brick structure. The north front and east side have arches along the first story and a portico rising to the pediment at the top of the second story. The windows are narrow and vertical. Over the front is a high square white wood cupola sitting on a white brick base and with clock at the top and a round silver dome. The building was renovated in 1914. The architect was Weber, Warren & Adkins and the contractor was O P Raymond & Company. The building was renovated from 1973 to 1975. The architect was Donald & Shelton and the contractor was Joe M Hawkins & Company Inc. and William Teater & Company Inc.


Note:  The first courthouse was built by Stephen Giles Letcher and Benjamin Letcher in 1797. The second courthouse was built in 1812 to 1813.


Note:  The original cupola was a tall observation tower used by the geological survey, but was replaced in 1914 to 1918 using brick left over from the high school.


County Justice Center – Lancaster  




Location:  54 Stanford Street / Public Square

Built:  2009 – 2010

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Brandstetter-Carroll Inc. of Lexington

Contractor:  Branscum Construction Company of Russell Springs.


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Lancaster to the east of the courthouse. The northeast front has a circular portico with six columns with glass panels behind. There is a cornice along the flat roof line. 


See:  The 13th Judicial Circuit includes Jessamine County.


History:  The county was created in 1796 and Lancaster was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built by Stephen Giles Letcher and Benjamin Letcher in 1797. The second courthouse was built in 1812 to 1813. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1868 to 1869. The county Justice Center was constructed in 2008 to 2010 at a cost of $11,536,000.




County Courthouse – Lancaster






















County Justice Center – Lancaster
















Photos taken 2007 and 2014