Laurel County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Laurel County

Laurel County is named for the Mountain Laurel trees that are prominent in the county.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Rockcastle County and Jackson County

E – Clay County

S – Knox County and Whitley County

W – Pulaski County and Rockcastle County


Created:  December 12, 1825                Map of Kentucky highlighting Laurel County

County Seat: 

London  1825 – present


County Courthouse – London  


Location:  101 South Main Street / West 4th Street

Built:  1960 – 1961

Style:  Modern Colonial Georgian

Architect:  Bayless, Clotfelter & Johnson of Lexington

Contractor:  Smith & Brown


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of London. The east front has a large portico supported by four large Corinthian columns rising to the pediment at the roof. On the west, the building expands with a north and south wing. On the center of the roof is a high narrow white colored wood cupola with black colored dome and weather vane on top. The building was expanded and renovated in 2005. The architect was Sherman-Carter-Barnhart, Inc. of Lexington and the contractor was McKnight & Associates, Inc. of London. On the west side is the County Judicial Annex.


See:  The architect, Bayless Clotfelter and Johnson of Lexington, designed courthouses in Barren County, Breathitt County and Rockcastle County.


County Judicial Center – London  




Location:  305 South Main Street / West 2nd Street

Built:  2008 – 2010

Style:  Modern

Architect:  CMW, Inc. of Lexington

Contractor:  Codell Construction Company of Winchester


Description:  The building faces east and is a four story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of London to the south of the courthouse. The east front has a large porch on the north side of the front with six high columns and glass paneled walls behind. On the south side of the roof is a large square tower. The roof line is flat.


See:  The contractor was Codell Construction Company of Winchester which company constructed many courthouse in Kentucky ( see  Louisville ).


See:  The 27th Judicial Circuit includes Knox County.


History:  The county was created in 1825 and London was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built. The second courthouse was a two story structure designed by H P McDonald Brothers and built by John W Mullins in 1884. The courthouse was destroyed by fire in December 1958. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1960 to 1961. The County Judicial Center was constructed in 2008 to 2010.




County Courthouse – London



















County Judicial Annex – London










County Judicial Center – London



















Photos taken 2007 and 2014