Knox County

US States / H-L / Kentucky / Knox County

Knox County is named for Henry Knox, who was the United States Secretary of War from 1785 to 1794.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Laurel County and Clay County

E – Bell County

S – Bell County

W – Whitley County


Created:  December 19, 1799                Map of Kentucky highlighting Knox County

County Seat: 

Barbourville  1788 – present


County Courthouse – Barbourville 


Location:  401 Court Square / Knox Street

Built:  1963 – 1965

Style:  Modern Colonial Revival

Architect:  Perkins, Threadgill and Associates

Contractor:  Davis Building Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The north front has a large portico supported by four large Corinthian columns rising to the pediment at the roof. In the center of the pediment is a clock. The roof is hipped.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed in 1874. The building was remodeled in 1907 and the architect was Frank P Milburn. The building was demolished.




County Courthouse – Barbourville










Photos taken 2007