Bourbon County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Bourbon County

Bourbon County is named for the Bourbon County in Kentucky which was named in honor of the Bourbon dynasty of France.


Created:  August 25, 1855

County Seat:

Fort Scott  1855 – present


County Courthouse – Fort Scott 


Location:  210 South National Avenue / West 3rd Street

Built:  1929 – 1930

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Cuthbert & Suehrk of Topeaka

Contractor:  Thogmartin-Reid Construction Company


Description: The building faces east and is a three story brown colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The east front has three rectangular doorways with stone facing on the first story. Four columns rise from the second story to the top of the third story dividing the recessed windows. Above is a wide header. A projecting cornice runs along the roof line. On the north side is a one story annex which was originally constructed as the jail. in 1971.


See:  The architect, Cuthbert & Suehrk of Topeka, designed courthouses in Montgomery County and Norton County.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by J H Gardner and constructed by James Thomson in 1887 and was destroyed by fire in 1929.



N – Linn County

E – Vernon County, Missouri 

S – Crawford County

W – Allen County





County Courthouse













Photos taken 2009