Jackson County

US States / V-Z / West Virginia / Jackson County

Jackson County is named for Andrew Jackson, who was President of the United States of America.


Created:  March 1, 1831

County Seat: 

Ripley  1831 – present


County Courthouse – Ripley 


Location:  100 Court Street / West Main Street

Built:  1918 – 1919

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Levi J Dean

Contractor:  Prescott Construction Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story smooth limestone structure. The east front has a full-height entry porch with a gable pediment, all supported by Ionic columns. There are three entrance openings on the first story and a small balcony above the second story. On the center of the roof is an octagonal white cupola with clock at the top. The building has a dentiled cornice that overhangs slightly. An addition was constructed on the west side and extends south. The building was renovated in 2003. The architect was Brighton A & E, Inc. and the contractor was Harco Construction Company, Inc.



N – Meigs County, Ohio and Wood County

E – Wirt County and Roane County

S – Kanawha County

W – Kanawha County,  Putnam County and Mason County

















Photos taken 2012