Roane County

US States / V-Z / West Virginia / Roane County

Roane County is named for Spencer Roane, who was a judge of the Virginia Supreme Court.


Created:  March 11, 1856

County Seat: 

Spencer  1856 – present


County Courthouse – Spencer 


Location:  200 Main Street / Market Street

Built:  1964 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  R L Wilson and J D King of St. Albans

Contractor:  E O Fogleman Construction Company of Summersville


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building faces south and was completed in 1965. The south front has ten tall pillars supporting the roof overhang. The central entrance is glass. The windows of the rectangular building are horizontal. There are no windows on the east and west sides. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1856. The second courthouse was designed by E W William and built in 1887.



N – Wirt County

E – Calhoun County and Clay County

S – Kanawha County

W – Jackson County 




















Photos taken 2012