Plumas County

US States / A-G / California / Plumas County

Plumas County is named for the Plumas River which was named for the Spanish word meaning “feathers”.


Created:  March 18, 1854

County Seat: 

Quincy  1854 – present


County Courthouse – Quincy 


Location:  520 West Main Street / Crescent Street

Built:  1919 – 1920

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  George Sellon & Company of Sacramento

Contractor:  Edward W Brook


Description:  The building faces north and is a four story white colored stucco and concrete structure. The north front has a central entrance on the first story with small pediment above. There are vertical narrow windows along the first story. The second and third stories have a large porch with eight columns and recessed windows. There are low one story wings off the northwest and northeast corners. The fourth story has small windows. The roof is hipped. The interior is paved in Tuolumne marble and accented with pink Tennessee marble.  The building is located in landscaped grounds.


See:   George C Sellon of Sacramento designed courthouses in Amador County, Lassen County, Nevada County, Sierra County and Tehama County.



N – Shasta County and Lassen County

E – Lassen County

S – Sierria County and Yuba County

W – Butte County and Tehama County























Photos taken 2013