Marion County

US States / A-G / Arkansas / Marion County

Marion County is named for Francis Marion, who was a general in the American Revolutionary War and who lived from 1732 to 1795.


Created:  September 29, 1836

County Seat:        

Yellville  1836 – present


County Courthouse – Yellville


Location:  105 North Berry Street / Main Street

Built:  1943 – 1944

Style:  Romanesque Revival and Art Deco

Architect:  Tom Eads of Fayetteville

Contractor:  Tom Eads of Fayetteville


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored stone and concrete structure. The south front has a projecting center section with a porch having an arched entrance on the first story and recessed doorway. On the second story above the porch, is an arched window. Octagonal steep roofs are at each corner of the front section with a square rectangular section behind on the roof top. The building forms a cross with an east and west wing.


Note:  The 1905 courthouse designed by George E McDonald burned to the ground on January 12, 1943. The present courthouse followed the design of the 1905 courthouse.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Marion County Courthouse



N – Taney County, Missouri and Ozark County, Missouri

E – Baxter County

S – Searcy County

W – Boone County





County Courthouse



















Photos taken 2011