Baxter County

US States / A-G / Arkansas / Baxter County

Baxter County is named for Elisha Baxter, who was a Governor of the State of Arkansas.


Created:  March 24, 1873

County Seat:

Mountain Home  1873 – present


County Courthouse – Mountain Home


Location:  1 East 7th Street / Main Street      

Built:  1941 – 1943

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  T Ewing Shelton of Fayetteville

Contractor:  Works Progress Administration  ( WPA )


Description: The building faces west and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is square with bands of stone decoration. The west center section projects from the main building and has stone trim on the corners. The roof line is flat. This was Works Progress Administration project.


Note:  The first court met at the Casey Store. In 1874, the county purchased a boarding house on Main Street. The first courthouse was built in 1882 and burned in 1890. The second courthouse was built at a cost of $4200 in 1890. A third story was added in 2012. The building was razed in 1941.



N – Ozark County, Missouri

E – Fulton County and Izard County

S – Stone County

W – Searcy County and Marion County














Photos taken 2011