Taney County

US States / M / Missouri / Taney County

Taney County is named for Roger Brooke Taney, who was the fifth Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court.


Created:  January 6, 1837 

County Seat:

Forsyth      1837 – 1841

Bull Creek  1841 – 1845

Forsyth      1845 – present


County Courthouse – Forsyth  


Location:  132 David Street / Main Street

Built:  1950 – 1951

Style:  Italianate

Architect:  Volney A Poulson

Contractor:  George Brown


Description: The building faces south and is a two story cream colored stucco and cinder block structure. The building is 116 feet square with an open center courtyard. The south front has a square tower at the central entrance with a large arched window. The upper part of the first story extends out from the building and the second story is recessed with a similar overhang.


Note:  The first courthouse was built at the mouth of Swan Creek ( Forsyth ). The second courthouse was built at Bull Creek in 1841. The third courthouse was built by Larkin W Selsor at Forsyth in 1855 at a cost of $3600. The building was destroyed by fire on December 19, 1885. The fourth courthouse was designed by James A Barton of Springfield and built by Larkin W Selsor in 1889 to 1891. The superintendent was A D Prather and the John H Parrish. An addition was built in 1914. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $66,912.


County Justice Center – Forsyth  




Location:  240 Main Street / Short Street

Built:  2007 – 2008

Style:  Modern

Architect:  HMN Architects and Butler Rosenbury

Contractor:  Septagon Construction Management


Description: The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The west front has a square glass and brick tower. The first story is recessed with brick pillars along the north side. The roof line is flat.



N – Christian County and Douglas County

E – Ozark County

S – Marion County, Arkansas and Boone County, Arkansas

W – Stone County


























Photos taken 2009