Treasure County

US States / M / Montana / Treasure County

Treasure County is named for the rich mineral resources in the area and promotionally to attract new settlers.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Rosebud County

E – Rosebud County

S – Big Horn County 

W – Yellowstone County and Musselshell County


Created:  February 7, 1919                    Map of Montana highlighting Treasure County

County Seat: 

Hysham  1919 – present


County Courthouse – Hysham 


Location:  307 Rapelje Avenue / Spurling Street

Built:  1959 – 1960

Style: Modern

Architect:  Morrison-Maierle & Associates

Contractor:  Cerovski Cement Products of Lewistown


Description:  The building faces north and is a one story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Hysham. The building has a projecting entrance section on the north side with glass walls and doorways. There is another entrance on the southwest side where a map of the county is outlined in brick on the west side wall. The building has a flat roof line. The building houses the County District Court of the16th Judicial District and County Justice Court.


See:  The 16th Judicial District includes Carter CountyCuster CountyFallon CountyGarfield CountyPowder River CountyRosebud County and Treasure County.


History:  The county was created in 1919 and Hysham was selected as the county seat. The county used rented premises. The courthouse was constructed in 1959 to 1960.




County Courthouse - Hysham  



















Photos taken 2009 and 2015