Powder River County

US States / M / Montana / Powder River County
Poweder R

Powder River County is named for the Powder River, which was named for the gunpowder like sand along its banks.


Created:  March 7, 1919

County Seat: 

Broadus  1919 – present


County Courthouse –  Broadus 


Location:  10 Courthouse Square / East Holt Street

Built:  1977 – 1978

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Harrison G Fagg and Associates

Contractor:  Tri State Construction of South Dakota


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The east section rises higher with the entrance at the junction of the west section which has a sloped roof line along the north side. The building is surrounded by spacious grounds.



N – Custer County

E – Carter County

S – Crook County, Wyoming and Campbell County, Wyoming

W – Big Horn County and Rosebud County













Photos taken 2009