Garfield County

US States / M / Montana / Garfield County

Garfield County is named for James Abram Garfield, who was the twentieth President of the United   States of America.


Created:  February 7, 1919

County Seat: 

Jordan  1919 – present


County Courthouse – Jordan 


Location:  200 Kramer Street / Leavitt Avenue

Built:  1951 -1952

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Elmer Link of Billings

Contractor:  John Sterhan of Glendive


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and concrete  structure. The building is located on the side of slope with the first story having an entrance on the south side which is occupied by the hospital. The County occupies the second story which has an entrance on the northeast corner with small porch supported by red brick pillars. The foundation is concrete and the roof line is flat. The building was constructed as a hospital and the County occupied the building when the former courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1996.


Note:  The previous courthouse was built in 1899 as a dance hall and then converted to a courthouse. The building was destroyed by fire in 1996.



N – Phillips County and Valley County

E – McCone County and Prairie County

S – Rosebud County

W – Petroleum County

















Photos taken 2011